Erato Orchestra Concert – 25th May 2024


08-Mar-2024 23:16

The Othello Suite by local composer Samuel Coleridge-Taylor was arranged in 2020 by George Morton which means the Erato Orchestra will be performing this work relatively hot off the presses. Romance was in the air when Clara Wieck-Schumann wrote Op.11 for the piano in 1840 at the age of 21 in the year of her marriage to Robert Schumann. She was a fine composer and Ian Butterworth’s arrangement for strings completed in 2022 will surely be entrancing as, having conducted the Erato Orchestra for many years and being a string player himself, Ian knows exactly how to show off the Erato’s string sections in their most romantic light.

These two recent arrangements of works by famous composers feature alongside two absolute favourite classical works by Mozart, his 40th Symphony and Horn Concerto No.3. Martin Grainger of the London Mozart Players will be this evening’s soloist.


Othello Suite (arr. George Morton) - Coleridge-Taylor

Horn Concerto No.3 in E flat, K.447 - Mozart

Romance Op.11, No.1 for strings – Clara Wieck-Schumann (arr. Ian Butterworth)

Symphony No.40 in G Minor, K.550 - Mozart


Martin Grainger - horn

Jonathan Regan - conductor


A South London concert close to Croydon, Coulsdon, Sutton, Carshalton and Redhill.

Easy parking


Erato Orchestra’s website

  • Share on
  • Facebook
  • Twitter